Please note that due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) global pandemic, many institutions have suspended on-campus instruction and are holding classes online until further notice. Due to increased travel restrictions, reduced visa services and public health quarantines, study abroad options may be affected. ApplyESL recommends contacting your program of interest and local embassy or consulate to obtain the latest updates.
"Do-It-Yourself Study Abroad" ESL School Search and Application Site

5 Steps to Study Abroad Success

Step 2 Prepare

Tests for Measuring English Skills

What is the IELTS?

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System. It measures the ability to communicate in English across all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking – for people who intend to study or work where English is the language of communication. IELTS is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and the University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations.

Candidates may choose from the Academic module or the General Training module, and both modules are graded using the same criteria. The only distinction between the Academic and General Training modules lies in the subject matter of the reading and writing components. All candidates take the same listening and speaking test components.

IELTS is accepted by Australian, British, Canadian, and New Zealand academic institutions as well as many professional organizations. American academic institutions are also increasingly accepting the IELTS for admissions purposes. IELTS is available in over 800 test venues in more than 130 countries, and is offered up to 4 times per month.

For more information visit