"Do-It-Yourself Study Abroad" ESL School Search and Application Site
5 Steps to Study Abroad Success

Tests for Measuring English Skills

What is the TOEFL test?

The TOEFL test measures your ability to use and understand the English language as it`s read, written, heard and spoken in the university classroom. As the most accepted English language test in the world, more than 7,300 universities, agencies, and other institutions in more than 130 countries accept the TOEFL test as part of their admissions criteria - including nearly every college and university in Australia and the UK.

The test, often referred to as the TOEFL iBT test, is administered at more than 4,500 test sites around the world. A paper-based version of the test is available in areas where TOEFL iBT testing is not possible.

The TOEFL test measures your ability to integrate the four English skills you need in an academic setting, making it the most comprehensive academic English test available.

For more information and to register at a test site near you please visit www.toeflgoanywhere.org.

What is the TOEIC?

The TOEIC Test (Test of English for International Communication) is an examination developed by the Chauncey Group at ETS and recently redesigned in 2007. It can be to your advantage to show prospective employers your ability to use English in the workplace by including your TOEIC scores with your resume. Thousands of companies, employers, colleges, universities, and international English programs recognize TOEIC scores. More than 4.5 million people take the TOEIC test annually. For more information go to www.ets.org.

What are the Cambridge English Examinations?

The Cambridge EFL Examinations are the test of English language run by the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES), one of the worlds largest and best known educational assessment agencies. On this examination, any nonnative speaker can test all four language skills - listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Recognized worldwide, the Cambridge exams are taken by more than a half-million people each year. Students take the Cambridge English Examinations to demonstrate their English ability level to universities and employers in Britain, North America, Australia, and New Zealand. There are different types of examinations available, each testing a different area of the English language. For example, there are examinations which test ability levels of general English, business English, English for academic purposes, certificates and diplomas for teachers, and English for young learners. http://www.cambridgeenglish.org

What is the IELTS?

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System. It measures the ability to communicate in English across all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking – for people who intend to study or work where English is the language of communication. IELTS is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and the University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations.

Candidates may choose from the Academic module or the General Training module, and both modules are graded using the same criteria. The only distinction between the Academic and General Training modules lies in the subject matter of the reading and writing components. All candidates take the same listening and speaking test components.

IELTS is accepted by Australian, British, Canadian, and New Zealand academic institutions as well as many professional organizations. American academic institutions are also increasingly accepting the IELTS for admissions purposes. IELTS is available in over 800 test venues in more than 130 countries, and is offered up to 4 times per month.

For more information visit